what's the difference between a real and fake musician?
My Music Videos

Guitars:
Breedlove Revival Series OM
Crosby Fingerstyle Model
Voyage-Air VAOM-06
Fender Stratocaster (American)
Fender Nashville Deluxe Tele
getting lessons can only make you a better player, being self-taught you can pick up bad habits that inhibit your playing. but being self-taught you can learn the things you want to learn and at your own pace. these days being self-taught is going on youtube and looking up guitar lessons. not in the old days when you used to go to the library and borrow books, or buy guitar magazines and learn the songs and pick up techniques that way.
Quote by coolstoryangus
Pffffffft schematics

Although i guess the OP will have to get used to reading them if he's going to buy a bugera..
Quote by gregs1020

along with fire escape routes...

Quote by mjkshreds
There is this guy that is trying to persuade me that a real musician is shelf taught, I disagree because most musicians will have to take lessons at some point especially if they go to college for music. What is ur opinion?

the guy is incorrect.

being a real musician has nothing to do with your method of learning, only the result.
Here's the thing. If you're going to teach yourself how to play an instrument, then you should get a music book, or at least something that will teach you.

When I got a guitar my parents forced me to take lessons (I didn't want to), but now I'm glad they made me. I still take them. I'm a much better player than my friends. None of them know any music theory and they all have developed bad habits because nobody was there to guide them in the right direction.

To me, a musician is someone who has vast knowledge in music, not someone who just has an instrument and can play decently.
Last edited by GuitarJunkie00 at May 16, 2008,
Quote by GuitarMunky
the guy is incorrect.

being a real musician has nothing to do with your method of learning, only the result.

well said sir.