Ok, I have been playing guitar for 7 years and I am decent, but no where near the best. One thing that I have not been able to overcome so well is how to pick quickly. I press my wrist agianst the guitar and it still does not work. My strings seem to bounce to much when I try to pick em quickly. I have tried going up to medium strings, but that does not seem to work. I know its not my picking style because I managed to pick pretty quickly on a bass guitar due to the tighter strings. Please help.
A) get a metronome
B) learn alternate picking
C) ??????
D) profit!!!!
Quote by coolstoryangus
Pffffffft schematics

Although i guess the OP will have to get used to reading them if he's going to buy a bugera..
Quote by gregs1020

along with fire escape routes...

Not to sound like a noob or anything like that...but what is a metronome and what is alternate picking? I also think I might need a new guitar as this one is just a cheap 100 dollar fender knockoff.
aradine, i love your quote. lmao. oh, and uh, gothslayer, you just gotta keep practicing at it i suppose, just like any other technique.
...a metronome helps you keep time. Alternate picking is plucking up and down, instead of regular down movements... dumb*ss reward of the day to gothslayer anybody?
alternate picking is when you pick down then instead of doing another downstroke do an upstroke, so instead of picking down, down, down, down pick down, up, down, up. it's more economical. picking with only downstrokes is like trying to run using only one leg. you could do it but you could go alot faster if you used both.

a metronome is a machine with a stick attached (best explanation i could think of), the stick rocks back and forth, at its farthest point left or right it will make a clicking sound. metronomes are used to keep in time with a song. each click equals one bpm (beat per minute).
Quote by coolstoryangus
Pffffffft schematics