Hey all, just recently got into lyric writting. This site looks pretty reliable and fun to be a part of. This is my first attempt at writting a song. Let me know what you think about it, or what improvements I can make . All the stuff in italics (also bolded) are sung on back-up if you couldn't tell.

A soldier exists and then he’s gone,
So don’t go thinking, just draw your gun
A sacred second disappears
Releasing with it all our fears
A candle burns and bombs explode
While those soldiers try in vain to reload.

A birthday wish has been made
A happy song no longer played
You spend your seconds like loose change
Never to see the dawn
Never to see the twilight
Never to know the cause
Never to know what’s right

Ten seconds of your life left
The final countdown cuts no slack
So what will you do?
With the time you’ve gotten back?

A final wish or lover’s touch,
Don’t think about the life you've lead
Not like it matters much now
Because you're good as dead

Every moment as precious as life
Would you wield the brach or the knife?
Or is that choice even yours to make?
No longer in peace
No longer in control
Haunted by death
Forced to pay its toll

So what will you do?

Would you waste it away?
Would you end another’s?
Blinded by your hate
So what will you do?
Would you take the chance?
To kill your own brother?!?!

10 Is this really 9 what you wanted? 8
Your 7 final mot-6-ive so daunted? 5
Because 4 now it’s 3 toooo late, 2
This 1 is just your 0.
Last edited by NinthDetour at May 17, 2008,
I really liked this, the countdown at the end is something you dont see everyday so good work on that one!

The first verse moved quickly which i liked, gave the piece momentum.

I liked the "Never" repetition, very direct and very definite.

Great work!
Thanks for the crit on mine.
Quote by MarchOfEternity
Oh, and azza, you're a pretty good writer! Graybass is a god amongst men and you're turning real quick to be his new messiah lol.

Quote by graybass_20x6
You're doing good, mate.