Hey everyone, I have been playing guitar for about 9 months now and I'm thinking of upgrading my guitar. I'm currently playing a Marlin SG Copy that is fairly fragile and doesn't sound that great (not that I was expecting it to since its a first guitar).

Anyway my parents are going on a trip to America and since guitars are much cheaper there I was going to ask them to pick me up one. Back to the point, I was thinking of getting the ESP EX-50 as it doesn't cost that much, looks great and from what I've heard is a great guitar for the price.

What do you guys think? If you have any other suggestions for a guitar of similar price thats better please say.
well it really depends on what type of style you play, as your guitar playing will progress throughought the years and you probably would want to stick with a guitar that will be good for you as a beginner, and as an advanced player
Well... I haven't tried the EX-50, but my school has the EC-50, so I'm guessing those should be similar in quality. The EC-50 isn't very good though... it's made of agathis, and is pretty bad quality in general (the school didn't buy it that a long time ago, and already the pickup-switch is broken) I think some sort of Epiphone Les Paul would be a much better buy.
Gear as 2015:
Ibanez PGM401
Music Man JP6 (for sale)
Music Man Axis (for sale)
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster
Ibanez EW Acoustic Steel string
Crappy Cort Acoustic 12-string
NI Rig Kontrol 3 & Guitar Rig 5
My second guitar is an Epiphone SG, im still using it. Its a really good guitar and id definatley recommend it, ive improved loads using it, ive been playing nearly 2 years and am taking my grade 6 exam in a weeks time. However no whammy bar and i find pinch harmonics harder to do on it.
My 2nd guitar was an Epiphone LP standard, which has been VERY solid ever since I got it. If you still want to look for the ESP EC's, maybe try and knock it up to an EC 200
The rig: