Lately ive been wanting to pick up bass really bad. I have some musical background, I can read and count music, played a year of french horn in school, and I can play guitar, but really badly. I know a pretty good amount of theory too. Is bass something that can teach myself and still learn at a good pace?

I also want to develop my ear. I play horn so my ear is getting there, but what should I do to develop my ear for bass?

Where can I find an explanation of fingerpicking technique?

Also, what are opinions on sheet music notation vs tablature?
um, well if you can play guitar, and you can read music, your fine. i mean really all playing bass is, is playing the bass note of a chord, its farley easy to pick up. i've been playing for about two years and ya, the only difficult thing is learning different styles
Well, I don't think you need a teacher, but having one would definitely help out.

Knowing theory and playing other instruments is going to help, you a bit, but you need to learn certain basics to grasp the idea.

Finger picking is essentially brushing the strings with your first and second finger alternating, trying not to hook your finger around the string too much, there are more detailed explanations in the FAQ I think which is stickied.

If you can read sheet music and the bass clef then sheet music will always be superior because you can play a song without having to hear it first, its also pretty much needed if you want to have a career in music. However, tablature is good if you don't know how to read music and you have access to the song to hear how it goes.

Hope that helped.

EDIT:
Quote by EllttEll
um, well if you can play guitar, and you can read music, your fine. i mean really all playing bass is, is playing the bass note of a chord, its farley easy to pick up. i've been playing for about two years and ya, the only difficult thing is learning different styles