Ok... Recently, I started learning "Panama" and "Ain't Talkin bout Love" by Van Halen. Now, these are in Standard tuning, which is a rarity for me. I'm usually in Drop C or Drop B, playing Slipknot, and Breaking Benjamin songs. However, Eddy Van Halen has always been my favorite guitarist, so I decided to play some of his stuff and see how it adds to my playstyle.

Well... I had noticed this before hand, but now its just a pain in my ass. I have to press my strings rediculously hard to get the correct note and avoid playing it dead/muted. Especially, now that the strings are tighter. It may be my guitar, (which, I read in a few online articles is a really crappy guitar) Cruise VMI (pics in profile ) which, only has 22 frets. I also noticed, whenever I play a friends guitar, it soooo much easier to fret correctly. My playing speed and accuracy increase drastically. I, more or less, don't even have to try anymore.

So... Any ideas on how to loosen up my strings a bit?
you play drop B? you probably have thick strings.
thick strings + standard tuning = high tension
Lower the action as much as you can (watch out for fret buzz though). Thats really the only way, either that or get used to the way your strings feel.

Have a professional do it though, chances are you'll get a better job done and you dont run the risk of messing up that way.
Was it polemically sent,
I Wanna know what you meant
I Wanna know,
I Wanna know what you meant
You're just used to playing with floppy ass strings.

Get a small gauge, and lower the action a bit.
Like podcasts? Listen to these!
BEER!
VIDEO GAMES!
MOVIES/GEEKY SHIT!

Last edited by zappp : Today at 4:20 PM. Reason: Suck on my balls, UG
Get used to it man! Try to strengthen your hands a bit.. High gauge strings sound good anyways But you could always drop the gauge.. I recommend 10's if you're gonna be changing between Drop B and E Standard..