I started playing a few days ago, its really tough on my fingers, I dont really care though. I just play through it, since I enjoy it a lot. I have to take breaks every now and then though. Some songs really put serious strain on some fingers if anyone has any tips etc that would be great. I already know not to push down too hard, just hard enough to reach the nail(whatever) at the bottom so the tone is clean.

So just wondering how long until my fingers adjust.

Thanks guys.
It takes about a week or so depending on what gauge string you are using I play with .09 - .46 on my strat, and .12-.something on my acousitic and if I dont play my acoustic for a couple of weeks the strings tear my fingers up pretty bad, oh and acoustic strings are a lot tougher on your fingers then electric strings I think oh and soak them in rubbing achocal for about 15 minutes and it will take the pain away
Last edited by therealtater at May 17, 2008,
a couple weeks(2-3), it depends. I dont know of anything to help. and that "nail" is called a "fret".
"A guitar is the human soul, speaking with just six strings..."- Eddie Lee

Irvine Kinneas of the Final Fantasy Elite - PM me, Ichikurosaki, Gallagher2006, or Deliriumbassist to join!
Thanks guys. I dont really experience any pain while taking breaks. You say that acoustic is tougher on the fingers? How is that? My friend has an electric guitar and the strings are much thinner and hence much harder to adjust to I think. Whats your views?

Thanks