Hey guys,
I'm new to the UG forums, but have been a reader for quite a while. I really feel like it's time to upgrade my old acoustic, currently a very cheap Johnson model. This is the model I'm looking at:

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ovation-Celebrity-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-103057840-i1148065.gc

I have no problem with the roundback, in fact I feel it's much more comfortable. I liked the sound of it too when I played it in the store. My Guitar Center only has the Koa model, which is the one I got to play and try out (anyone know anything about the sound/playability of the black cherry quilted-maple?). But before I seal the deal, I wanted to know what more experienced people think. I've seen the threads about only high-end Ovations being worthwhile, but I'm not sure where this fits. I'm really not looking to go above $600, and I definitely want a cutaway acoustic-electric with a built-in tuner. Thanks!
generally non-US made ovations have suspect quality. however, this usually applies to the really cheap ovations.
My opinion of ovations is this...

PROS
- great necks, play like electrics
- look nice
- convenient electronics, the better ones sound very good plugged in
- very unique sound

CONS
- sound like crap acoustically
- I get no feel off them (I can make it sound good, but they just don't give me a good response to feel when I play them and get no inspiration at all)
- that unique sound might not be good for everything

Personally, I'd recommend an decent acoustic with a SOLID wood top. If you NEED a pickup right now, then look for that. If you just WANT one for sometime later, get a better guitar for the money and buy a decent pickup later.