Page 1 of 2
I'm a new guitarist and have over 1500 to spend on a guitar and an amp stack and a drumset. I'm going to be playing progressive alternative metal like TOOL, or heavy rock like alice in chains/kyuss/metallica
If you don't think i should buy one of those guitars, im accepting recommendations

For the AMPS I'm choosing:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-HD150-Guitar-Amp-Head-Spider-III-412-Speaker-Cabinet?sku=485062
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Marshall-MG100HDFXMG412-Slant-Cab-Half-Stack-Package?sku=482807

Which would you recommend and why?

Guitars:
Faded Gibson SG
s470
js100
se custom
rg1570

Be happy to throw in your recommendations
I'm only gonna buy new strings and a DS Distortion or a Wah Pedal

Drumset:
pulse 8pc
tama imperialstar
gretsch catalina

I'm prolly gonna buy the guitar used off of ebay to save 1-2 hundred so that way I can get new heads for the drums
Both of those amps are shit.

Try again. As for guitars, the S470 would be my choice, if not than the PRS. Tama for drums.
Like podcasts? Listen to these!
BEER!
VIDEO GAMES!
MOVIES/GEEKY SHIT!

Last edited by zappp : Today at 4:20 PM. Reason: Suck on my balls, UG
For the amps get the marshall.

For guitar either choose the Rg or the js100.

For drums I don't really know because I haven't been playing drums that long to know what's good or bad.
amps: YOU DONT NEED A HALF STACK. both of those are crap.
guitar: sg, or prs.
drums: catalina
Amp- Neither. Spider 3 is good at low volumes, but thats it. And MG's.... dont even go there. Remember kids, solid state half stack=penis extension.

Guitar- I've heard good things about the JS-100, but I dont know how good it is for metal. I personally own a Gibson SG Faded Special, and its great. Some people give it crap, but its a great guitar once you set it up. I've The Ibanez RG's are good guitars too, but i have no experience with that particular model.

Drumset- I dont play drums, so im no help. Sorry buddy.