Hey guys, I've been playing guitar for about 5 months, and I freaking love it. I started out with a pathetic little ebay special, 100 bucks guitar and amp pack. Horrible little thing, learned the basics with it over 2 months or so and upgraded to an ESP EC-50. Beautiful little thing, I just love the resemblism it has to Slash's sunburst Les Paul with it's modern touch, it has a neck perfect for my size hand, I've managed to get rather good with it, I'm playing rhythm for my band with it and it's doing me well. However I'm wondering what an even better guitar could do for me.

I don't really have a price range, I'm willing to go as high or as low depending on the guitar. Nothing to outrageous though. The type of music I like playing is sort of as soft as Bloc Party to as heavy as Bullet. I've been looking at Gibsons mainly, they come at a hefty price but from what I've heard are worth every cent.

I'm going to ask you guys what you think would be right for me. Keeping in mind my price range is under 2.5k plus say 500-600 for an AMP. I'm willing to go over my price range if I find something that I fall in love with, I'm not going to be buying for about six months or until Christmas time 2008. Discuss
Spend that under 2.5k on the amp, and the 500-600 on a guitar. Trust me.
Signatures are overrated.
You say 2.5k plus on guitar and 500 for amp, so about $3000?

Spend $2000 on amp of your choice, and $1000 on a guitar. The amp is more important.
5 months and you are spending 3000 on a new guitar and amp!? Also +1 to Moe.
Good guitar + mediocre amp = mediocre sound
Average guitar + good amo = good sound

Quote by UltimateDud
However I'm wondering what an even better guitar could do for me.

Getting a good guitar wont make you play better. Practice does that.
Last edited by littlephil at May 18, 2008,
I agree that a better won't make you a better player by itself, however a nice new guitar can get you much more inspired to play it, it did for me anyway.