i have been playing the guitar for three years. i have never played an electric guitar. i really like strumming for church band, etc. im not such a great picker (as in picking) and im a decent fingerpicker. I no the question is very vague but HOW DO I GET BETTER? i havent really seen much improvement. i usually practice about 20-40 minutes a day. Should i been doing scales? arpegeos(SP)? how do i become a better strummer, picker, and fingerpicker?
uhh practice?

Not to be rude or anything maybe you should play more times a day and practice ur chords and strumming and picking
arpeggios, first of all.
Second of all, just work really hard on picking (especially alternate, maybe sweep if you're into that).. strumming.. while, you just gotta be accurate, and able to keep a steady rhythm.
Fingerpicking... Google Justin Sandercoe, he's got really good videos on that.
Scales would be good to develop picking IMO. And fingerpicking comes with practice. Try learning Kansas' song "Dust in the Wind" or Stairway to Heaven.
ive learned stairway to heaven expect for the solo part. also, would picking sound good for accoustic guitars? can u give me a good accoustic picking song?

and also, how much longer should i pratice each day?
I've started learning guitat two months ago and I have to say, the only thing I really enjoy is fingerpicking. So maybe these song are for begginers, but so far i found these the best:

Led Zeppelin - Babe I'm Gonna Leave you
Jack Johnson - Wrong Turn
Pink Floyd - Is There Anybody Out There
McKennitt Loreena - Serenissima
This is what you do:

Learn the pentatonic/blues scale which is shockingly very simple. Jam with songs that are easy to play along with and just get into the groove of the music and tinker around and mix it up and just explore (bends, slides, hammer-ons, pull-offs ect.). Do this everyday and you will notice that you will get better day by day.