I am a beginner using an Ibanez RG470 with a very basic low quality practice amp. I would like to get a more substantial amp. I do not particularly intend to gig and I would like an amp that is suited to all playing styles including clean blues tones (e.g. Dire Straits).

I have been looking at both the Marshall AVT and MG series (specifically the MG250DFX). I understand the physical difference between these (i.e. solid state and valvestate) but can anyone tell me how the sound differs between them and how well the new FDD (Frequency Dependant Dampening) feature emulates the valvestate sound?

Any information will be greatly appreciated,

Thanks
the valvestate can sound decent, but it's not a great amp amp at all.
the MG on the other hand, is ****. it's cleans are sterile, and the distortion is harsh, fizzy and just plain crappy.

what's your budget, and what are your most important music styles ?
do you prefer SS or would you also be willing to get a tube amp ?
are you planning to buy an amp with enough power to be able to gig for later ?
if no, will you use it to jam with a drummer ?
stear away from both, oh and by the way, the AVT isnt a 'tube' amp, its a hybrid, they put a tube preamp section in, that really doesnt do anything to your sound like a full tube amp would.
For the money there are other options, eg. peavey valve king, or if you in the UK look at the laney vc series.
Ok I heard these the AVT and MG amps demonstrated. The distortion was wasnt great on the MG and was a bit better on the AVT. My budgets about £300-£400, I didn't realise you could get all valve amps in this price range.

How do the Peavey Valve Kings, Laney VC series and the Marshall JCM compare?
Is there any other all valve combo amps I should consider approximately in this price range?
Is it ok to use an all valve amp to practice for a couple hours a day, i.e. will it damage it in relation to it needing to warm up, etc?
If a valve goes how much do these cost to replace?

Thanks.