I'm new to the world of electric guitars and I really need some good advice on picking out an AMP, distortion pedal and strings for my just ordered Ibanez RGR421EXFMROFL.

I really like the sound of Bullet For My Valentine's guitars.

I'm looking to spend $200-300 on the AMP, 2 that looked good were the Line 6 Spider III 75 75W 1x12 (which I can get for $250) and the VOX 30wt (also $250).

But again I also don't know much about amps and I just saw that these 2 had good reviews and were in my price range. Also is it worth it to get an amp's tube replaced with something really nice?

And I strings I need help on what is quality and good sounding. Price isn't much of an issue here.

Pedals, The sound of the Boss Metal Core and Digitech Metal Master was good to me. What is the best distortion pedal out there?

How about the Damage Control ones and the Line 6 Uber metal?

Any and all help is appreciated. Anything else that I should get, give me your thoughts.
I need to buy this stuff by the end of the week, all opinions are considered.
everything you just described was crap, except the vox ad30vt. (STAY AWAY FROM SPIDER, AND DISTORTION PEDALS... crap ones at least)

I can vouch that the vox is a good little amp, i own one...

strings? i like ghs boomers

picks? dunlop tortex .6's

amp? ad30vt's pretty good if you're not gigging, look at valvekings though...
05' G&L S-500
95' Godin LGX

96' Yamaha APX 6-A

Peavey Classic 30
Maxon OD808
look for a used valveking and an Electro harmonix metal muff. Line 6 spiders are generally considered to be one of the worst amps out right now. The vox is ok but that tube in it doesnt really make much of a difference in the sound. I would say try to aim a little higher for the amp. You wont get very good high gain amps until much higher price levels though.
ODEN 08 'RISE WITH US'
Ok, I should I get the tube replaced in the vox?

How about a Bandit 112?
Last edited by )(yperX at May 21, 2008,