i noticed on my squire strat if i held the selector all the way to the left (looking down at it) it would almost act like a kill switch. is it possible to wire it so one of them would act like a kill switch?
Yes you can but I'm not very good with 5 ways so I'm of no help. But, I know its possible.
Quote by Peradactyl
alright, off topic but how do i make forum posts

Quote by The_Paranoia
a4lrocker is an offical thread legend.
Quote by AudioRage8 5 6
i noticed on my squire strat if i held the selector all the way to the left (looking down at it) it would almost act like a kill switch. is it possible to wire it so one of them would act like a kill switch?
Not really.
If you wired the Neck position so it was a kill,
that would also kill the neck + middle position, too.

There's a way you could wire either the #2 position or the #4 position
so that one of them would kill.
this would require rewiring the tone controls differently.
but of course you'd lose either the neck + middle or the middle + neck combination.

if you replaced your selector with a 5-way superswitch,
you can have each of the 5 positions wired to do just about anything you want.
Meadows
Quote by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.
i dont really care about the middle and neck cuz theyre just the stock squire pups. but thanks for telling me about the superswitch. i do plan on replacing the 2 other pups.
you could also replace a volume or a tone pot with a push/pull pot as a kill switch. or add a mini toggle. this way you're not losing the functionality of the two other pickups.
STUFFZ:
SAGA ST10, IBANEZ(s): '96 ZR140BK (korea), '96 RX20 (indonesia)
Danelectro Cool Cat CC1 Chorus
Digitech Bad Monkey
Behringer BX1800A (180w 12" aluminum cone)
FOR SALE: Fender Champion 110 (25w RMS combo 10" with tank reverb)