Learning all the notes on the fretboard? For example learning what fret on what string plays what note. Or should I learn some more scales instead? What do you think would be better? I'm a bit of a beginner and don't know much theory.
You are like a hurricane
There's calm in your eye.
And I'm gettin' blown away
To somewhere safer
where the feeling stays.
I want to love you but
I'm getting blown away.
Learn the notes on the fretboard, then learn the intervals that make up different scales. Scale patterns can be helpful but are also rather limited as far as I'm concerned.
Ka pu te ruha ka hao te rangatahi.
Learn both, there's no hurry (I assume).

You don't necessarily have to learn every note on the fretboard as long as you understand scales, but for finding chord root notes it is EXTREMELY helpful to learn all the notes on the low E and A strings.
Try this one - is it worth learning the alphabet if you want to learn to read and write? You can't actually learn scales until you learn the notes anyway.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
it's worth it becuase you'll be able change the shape of the scales
you're learning.

You'll also will be able to change the shape of a chords or make
veriations of the same chord or inversions of it
When extending chords it'll be very helpful.

The same note on paper will give you a different tone
if you play it on a different string.

You know...there's only 5 notes to the pentanic scale, but
you can play that 5 notes in different places of the fretbroad
Learn it.

A good way to learn all the notes on the fretboard is to lean all the mode patterns and memorise the major key (E Phrygian I think). After that, all you need to do is learn where all the BC's and EF's are and you should be able to know where all the notes are.