I'm tired of all this slow stuff, I think I'm just going to jump right into Raining Blood by Slayer.

Even though I've been playing for only a few months, I've got the intro about down and I will continue to work on this awesome song all summer! I figure that if I finally get this song down (maybe not the speed ), I can learn any song.

What do you think about this approach?
1. Raining blood is only hard in guitar hero, not real life.

2. You don't have the speed or finger strength, no matter how long you work on it this summer.

3. Guitar is not something to rush.
the first song i tried to play was black dog by zeppelin and i practiced it like everyday and couldnt get the speed til bout a month ago lol. Start of raining blood is real easy but the rest i havnt even looked at.

personally i think you should really keep to your skill level and learn songs that are just out of your reach so u can see your progress...
I think its a generally decent approach to learning, but I think its also a crappy motive as far as "if i can do this i can do anything". It takes hours of practice to get that muscle memory down, but then again that is just for that rhythm and soloing. I would suggest you learn some backing theory if you don't know it already, what scales you use and why it sounds good (if you consider that song good) but it wont just unlock the entire awesomeness that is the guitar and any song available for playing. It will give you the ability to play that song.
*sighs* Well, I need a good tough song that will impress my parents so I can get a new guitar. (This one is crap.)

I mean why would someone who can't play need a new guitar?

Suggestions...?
You just said you've only been playing a few months though, yes?

I played on crap gear for a year. Trust me, the worst junk I've ever seen. I don't think it could have gotten much worse.