Hey I've been playing guitar for about 5 months now. Barring I found was near impossible. Even when it became comfortable for my hand to hold the position the second string just wouldn't work.

Today I tried something out of the blue. I slid the guitar to the right, so my face and left arm are further up on the fretboard. I find this WAYYYY easier to play a lot of chords where previously, my hand would be touching the high e string, and find it wayyyy wayyy easier to bar.

My question is, am I just holding the guitar more properly now? It looked fine before. Or am I "cheating" and is this gonna make playing some stuff harder - ie a shortcut thats gonna bite me in the ass. I just want some advice before I continue to get used to changing the position I hold the guitar. Thanks!
I'm having trouble imagining how you're holding it now. I guess I didn't understand your description though. There's no real way to "cheat" at guitar, either it's a shortcut that will make things more difficult later (I have one of these, I never played ith my pinky and now I'm in trouble when it comes to more advenced things), or maybe you've just found a more comfortable and innovative way of doing it, in which case, good for you!

Pictures might help, too.
E-married to ilikepirates

Quote by bloodtrocuted93

How are you so fucking awesome at music?

>¦<
¦
It's not cheating, whatever's comfortable works; pictures would be good but I think I get what you're saying.

Spoony_Bard: Is that name a reference to Final Fantasy II? As it happens, I'm currently playing it and about to reach that line.
If you're picking in the middle of the fretboard, it definitely changes the tone, and that isn't going to work for everything. As for barring, Hendrix/ SRV used their thumb for the bar chords with roots on the low E. I think it's way easier, so I do that.