Page 1 of 2
This is sort of a follow up to the question I asked last night. I have a Peavy Rage 258 and am somewhat satisfied but it gets me frusterated sometimes. I play a variety from blink-182 to the used to nine inch nails to metal (all that remains, bullet for my valentine) and then a little bit of other random stuff (couple killers songs, couple of The Bravery's, Jimmy Eat World, etc.). Now I've only been playing for a few months so I don't want to spend a lot of cash. To aid me in my decision I ask the following question:

What are the pros and cons of both tube amps and solid states?

I ask this mainly because I have two friends who have another year and change under their belts and one recomends tube and the other solid state. I'm fairly new to the whole guitar and amp world so I was wondering if someone could just sort of make a guide to choosing between the two so I can make a better decision as to what I'm going to go with next.

Thanks!
tubes.
pros- sounds great
cons-you have to replace tubes every year(actually usually more than a year)

ss
pros- cheap i guess.
cons- in your price range, sounds like ****
In most cases, tube is the better option.
There can be some good SS, but you are better off with a nice tube combo. It'll give you a sound that you'll be happy with.

EDIT: Post above is stupid. Its whenever the tubes die/get old, which varies based on usage, but usually every 2 years.
Sunn O))):
Quote by Doppelgänger
You could always just sleep beside your refrigerator.

Guitar:
- Ibanez S670FM w/ JB
- Fender 'Lite Ash' Stratocaster
- Fender '72 Deluxe Telecaster
- Arbiter LP Jr. Doublecut
Amp:
- Laney VC15

'72 Tele Appreciation Group
RIP DIO
Last edited by Simsimius at May 22, 2008,
bullet for my valentine aren't really a good example of metal
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Dean Razorback Explosion

Amps:
Peavey ValveKing 112

Effects:
BOSS ME-50
Metal Muff