ok so im a guitarist but today, i joined a band (hardcore/thrash)as a bassist, and i was wondering if there were any excercises i should do to get better all around as a bassist
(Main)Gear-v
Jackson Dinky DKMGT
PRS SE Paul Allender
Peavey 6505+ 112
scales..
lots of them. a good place to start to get good quic,
My red is so confident that he flashes trophies of war and
ribbons of euphoria
Firstly. Stop thinking of it as a big guitar. You need different techniques for both hands.

Your fretting hand should have the thumb on the back of the nck (not wrapped around) and you should be using a 4 finger stretch with each finger roughly parallel to the frets.

In order to help you isolate bass and guitar, I recommend you at least try learning finger style. This involves simply brushing your fingers over the strings so they vibrate parrallel to the fretboard. Make sure you alterante the fingers. Using a single finger is not giong to be fast enough for a thrash band.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW
Damn you and Warwickyness

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1
Try to use 3 fingers, its what im working on, but you can use a pick too, of do 50% of the time pick and 50% of the time fingers
Quote by kyle33093
Try to use 3 fingers, its what im working on, but you can use a pick too, of do 50% of the time pick and 50% of the time fingers

Ahh, but 3 fingers isn't necessarily faster than 2. If you use a 3212 pattern, you are still limited by the speed of the middle finger, which is the same for 2 finger plucking.

If you go 321321, you get the akwards job of making sure you emphasise the beats with different fingers each time (unless you only play triplets).

Quote by elliott FTW

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1
ok so can sum1 point me in the direction of sum good bass scales/excercises?
(Main)Gear-v
Jackson Dinky DKMGT
PRS SE Paul Allender
Peavey 6505+ 112