well, i started playing acoustic guitar about 4 years ago, but kinda stopped until January where a bought a cheap acoustic-electric. And i am hooked, i cant get enough of it. but the more i play it, i realize that its still acoustic and i have trouble with faster stuff, and really want an electric.

Now with the memorial day sale, it would be ideal to get stuff now on sale.

so what is a good cheap guitar and amp? For the guitar, i would prefer to stay away from squier, and other less then quality brands. ive seen the deans, and played one some time ago, and i like it. I dont need anything too crazy, just something i can play with. I know several bands that are going through some tough times and about to break up, so i may see if i could join as a rhythm.

As for the amp, i would only need some cheap to practice, and i should be able to use someone else's amp at gigs.

As of now, i really dont know what my budget is, im trying to get a part time job over the summer to pay it off, or borrow money from the parents and pay them back when i can. So what would be some different options depending on my budget.

I posted this here and in guitar gear and accessories (i wasnt sure which section, they both seem like they could work)

I would play a lot from jazz to clean, and anything else (sorry thats vauge. haha. jazz is big tho)
Last edited by Skar578 at May 22, 2008,
First of all, Squier is hardly a low quality brand. There are many great Squiers and they are not too expensive. Second, Deans are not cheap, not at all.

As for amps, I'd reccomend a Roland Micro Cube Amp. It's $125 on Musiciansfriend.com. (Tho, I'd still try it out at a store.) Rolands are built like tanks and usually have several effects built in. The Micro Cube has a chorus, flanger, phaser, tremolo, and separate delay/reverb. They also rarely break down. So, for you money, Rolands are a steal.
I got my Ibanez GRX20 for around 185 bucks and its great for the price.