I'm not entirely sure where this goes, but I'm gonna try MT first before I go back to my safe lurking haven of the bassist forum. The subject at hand seems more theory inclined then anything else, so I figured I'd try here. If I'm wrong, mods, please either delete this or move, whichever is easier and more convenient.

I'm looking for songs that are in 5/8 time signature. I know some of Tool's songs are in 5/8, but I'm not the biggest fan of that genre of music(I'm not trashing them, just stating personal preference).

I'm in a band, and my drummer wants to write a song in 5/8, and since I'm really kind of new to different time signatures, I wouldn't mind getting some practice under my belt with other songs before I attempt to tackle writing a bass line for a song of my own.

Any and all help and guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Whit abound in this signature
Quote by think11270
Pirate songs, seriously.
ha ha

I found a page on wikipedia that might be helpful
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_musical_works_in_unusual_time_signatures

Oh, haha, very nice find! I didn't think of turning to Wikipedia because I've been lead wrong by them before(who hasn't, eh?), but the one time I don't look....

And, thanks quinny. I'll check out that Radiohead song.
Whit abound in this signature
"When your mind's made up" by glen hansard & marketa irglova is a great song in 5/8. I'm going to see them in July!
My wave by Soundgarden is a great example of a song that is in 5/4 yet feels perfectly natural
5/8 is normally counted as a group of 3 quavers followed by 2 quavers or vica versa , with 5/4 the grouping can be with 2 groups of 3 semquavers followed by 4 quavers

5/8 commonly felt as 3/8 follwed by 2/8 or 2/8 followed by 3/8

5/4 as above but with quarter notes ,
also 6/8 followed by 2/4
Damien Redmond - "Grade 8 electric guitar" -"Grade 5 theory "
"Licentiate Diploma of the London college of music "
It's in 4/4 I think, just odd beats are stressed.