I've been playing for four months, and can play a few songs, the two hardest are probably Dani California and Snow ((hey oh)), but I'm wondering where do I go from here?

Learning songs has helped me a lot, and I practice a lot, which makes the techniques I know improve all the time, but I only seem to be using the same techniques, instead of learning new ones like I used to.

I really want to learn how to do things such as palm muting, like used on Can't Stop, by the Chili Peppers... might have named the wrong technique there? but you should know which I mean. I just can't seem to do it for songs like that.

I want to learn this, as I'm pretty certain that I want my playing to go in that 'funk' direction.

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody had any tips, or websites giving tips for developing, particularly in things such as muting.

Thanks,
Lewis.
practice it, a lot

after a few days/weeks it will be second nature and you don't even know you are doing it
Quote by Calabur

...I really want to learn how to do things such as palm muting, like used on Can't Stop, by the Chili Peppers... might have named the wrong technique there? but you should know which I mean. I just can't seem to do it for songs like that....

Palm Muting in Cant Stop? I don't belive there is.
develop out of RHCP perhaps
Quote by Td_Nights
*Points to Above Poster*

Best. Username. Ever.

Quote by _-Joey-_
I wish I was gay...

PSN- td_rules Steam- tdrules
Go into some Hendrix stuff.
Gear:
Epiphone G-400 Ebony
Line-6 UberMetal, EchoPark
Boss RC-2 Loop Station
Traynor YCV50Blue, Bass Mate 25, Guitar Mate 15
Quote by O-52-A-50-R
Palm Muting in Cant Stop? I don't belive there is.

Palm muting is where you mute certain strings with your fretting hand, right?

x
x

?