I've been playing guitar for over two years now, and I've learned principally by looking up tabs on this site. I think I've learned pretty fast, and I can do some advanced techniques, like sweeping. However, the one thing that I really want to learn is music theory, because I'd really like to be able to write my own music, and, above all, improvise.

I don't really have access to a teacher, because I live in a fairly rural part of NC, and I'm not sure where to find a teacher, and I'd have a hard time finding one that would teach in the style of music I want to play. I've tried to learn theory several times now on my own, by looking up lessons on the internet, or from my theory book (The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Theory), and whenever I start reading them, I feel like a complete idiot. I don't understand anything. It really makes me feel depressed about my playing.

I've been using the program Fretboard Warrior to memorize the notes of the fretboard, and I plan to learn to read music over the summer. The main thing I've tried to learn from the lessons is scales. I don't understand them. Well, I understand how they're put together, and how music is created from them, but I don't understand how to practice them.