Page 1 of 4
UG knows I play bass and I now have a bass related problem.

Basically I've had a hard time music-wise with my family who tolerate my bassplaying to a certain extent. However over the last few days they've become increasingly hostile towards it, and seem to blame every little error I make on bassplaying.

I'm increasingly fed-up.....I hardly play bass outside of church and it's not distracting me from doing other things.

Any help as to what I can do/say/be before I quit bass in frustration?

PS Anyone who makes fun of me being a bassist I will find their IP address, track down where they are and personally slap them.
Quote by metaldud536
Maybe you should add two more strings?

First post win.

Don't worry, the bass isn't important.

I kid Fassa, please don't slap me Just tell them it's what you want to do, it's your decision

Quote by hazzmatazz
youmakemesmile...

Quote by sebastian_96
Today I stole a girls tampons for being such an annoying bitch.

MUFC

My love for you
Is like a truck
Berserker.
Quote by metaldud536

Ha ha funny.

Not!

Let's put it another way- I'm the only musician in my family that I'm aware of. Can you imagine me going home and discussing PA set-up with them or the set list of my next recital?
It's up to you. If bass is your thing, just keep practicing until you don't make enough errors for them to talk about. If it bothers them too much, turn it down a little, I guess. My family is the same way. I just keep them happy by playing stuff they like to where they can hear it, and my stuff to a lower volume.
Quote by Zero-Hartman

I kid Fassa, please don't slap me Just tell them it's what you want to do, it's your decision

Standing up to them is likely to make the situation worse. I'd rather come to a compromise than have to go against them for the sake of a lump of wood with metal strings on it.
Quote by Fassa Albrecht