OK so here's the run down..

Back in january i got the Fender Starcaster starter package from sams club, came with everything i needed, a bag, 10 watt amp, replacement strings, strap (which i replaced) and of course the guitar with a few other things. (DVD, picks, headphones etc.)

http://www.amazon.com/Fender-Starcaster-Strat-Accessory-Candy/dp/B000VCBJ0C

this is what i got only mine is a different color

i love it, its my first guitar, it has sentimental value to me and i'm going to keep it and play it continuously and it should last me a good while because its quite sturdy. best 200 bucks i've ever spent.

so i've been playing for about 5 months i can play a few songs ranging from the red hot chili peppers to metallica to black sabbath to some hendrix. i can play basic chords and bar chords and my instructor is bringing me into lead guitar showing me various scales.

i want a new guitar, and i want something at the opposite end of the spectrum, i was looking at an epiphone les paul.

this one:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Standard-Plain-Top?sku=517413

in ebony for 429 shipped.

i checked it out in person at george's music and the one on display had a bit of fret buzz, and they were asking 449+ tax but i'm guessing thats just that one guitar. the guy said if we changed the strigns to 10awg they should be fine but i think he said he had another one in the back but if not i'm going to take a chance and save some money and get it from the site above..

the reviews say its great so i'm all for it.

i'm also getting a line 6 spider 3 30 watt amp too, so it should be nice..

let me know what you think or if there are any other reccomendations.. keep it in the price range..
great guitar
change the pickups down the line and it's even better
though i would recomend the honeyburst
it's beautiful
i wouldn't bother with the line 6
save and get something better
I want Super Saiyan abilities