Well....I've been playing guitar for a year 5 months and 30 days (yeh, I counted) And love it, but I've been wanting to get into bass for awhile now, and today I went down to a pawn shop and picked up a bass and amp finaly. nothing to great, just a cheap rogue, and a first act amp, but it works, and I couldn't be happier.

So I was just wandering....any basics I should learn? cuase I've just been learning from tabs. should I read over some lessons on here, or just keep on with learning songs?
Quote by dcdossett65
Life is too short to worry about this crap.

Who.

Cares.
learn some of the songs you learned on guitar on bass...that'll definitely help since you're already familiar with the song, but u can train your fingers easier. hope that helps
I converted as well just a few hours ago. I imagined myself as being able to just pick up the bass and funk would come out but I realized it'll take alot of practice I'm trying to learn Aeroplane by Red Hot Chili Peppers as my first full song. That'd be awesome!
Congrats, and good luck to both of you!
TS, defo go with the lessons here; there's plenty of them, and always ready advice when you need it. GNR's right about starting out on songs you know. More because you already have the feel of the song. So if you get tab for it, you can relate your first faltering steps to what you already know.
Just take your time; it'll take a while to get used to the fretboard and string spacing being that bit bigger. But it's well worthwhile.
As for starting on Aeroplane... ...you're nothing if not ambitious, eh? That's not one of the easier ones!
This is starting to sound like a religious revival....PRAISE THE LAWD, THEY HAVE SEEN THE LIGHT!!

Keep your thumb behind the fretboard, your fretting arm elbow close to your body. Lessons are good on this site and search the internet for more. Books? Get Hal Leonard's Bass Methods.

Buy a good thick strap. Use it always.