My guitar has slight intonation problems(the b string is sharp). After I started playing more, it became quite noticeable to me. I want to get it fixed, but when I look up a general price online it varies from about $20 up to $130.

My question is: Generally how much does it cost to set the intonation correctly on an acoustic guitar?

I would like to know before I get a quote from a local guitar shop so I don't get ripped off.

Thanks in advance!
Quote by §ArmyofAngels§
um... have you tried lowering the pitch with the tuning machines?

No. What would that do?

I am no guitar expert, but when I play the b string on the 12th fret it's not the same sound as the harmonic on the same fret so I just assumed it was an intonation issue.
^ You're checking it wrong. Tune up the guitar to standard tuning and get it as accurate as possible to dead on. Neither flat nor sharp. Then compare the open note of each string(not harmonic) to the fretted 12th. And when you fret at the 12th, be sure you're not falsely driving the note sharp by pressing too hard or bending the string, even a little. A decent electronic tuner will show you instantly how far off the notes are. So say you have it tuned up, and you play the open B string, and it shows just a needle width or so over center. Ok, so when you play the 12th fretted note, the needle should be the same distance away from center. If they both play out with the needle dead on center, great. The main point of intonating is to get each note, open and the 12th fretted, the same. When you retune the open strings to standard, the 12th fretted is going to automatically follow. Get it?
Before you do anything tho, put on a new set of strings of the proper gauge for that guitar. This will fix the majority of slight intonation problems in itself. Especially if the strings are old. Chances are you don't need to have it serviced at all, and can save yourself some cash in the process. A set of $10 strings is certainly less than a setup isn't it.