As you can see from my sig I own a 40W 1x12 Hot Rod Deluxe. Obviously it's far too powerful to get any power tube magic going on at practice levels. Has anyone used an attenuator with a HRD - opinions? Or would going for a small second amp (1-5W, < £400) be the way to go?

Also - is there anywhere one can get a Weber MASS attenuator in the UK?
American Deluxe maple board Strat
Hot Rod Deluxe
Fulltone Fulldrive II mosfet
I have no experience with 1w amps, but I can tell you 5w is still too loud for bedroom levels.
Yeah around half the volume of my HRD. I practice somewhat louder than bedroom levels - ~3/12 clean channel when the family is out.
Hot Rod Deluxe
Bump.
Hot Rod Deluxe
Yeah, I'd get a 5W head and connect it to your HRD's speaker rather than get an attenuator.
You Don't Need a halfstack.

You Don't Need 100W.

Quote by jj1565
i love you slats.
I see you want a tiny terror, and those things have a switch that allows it to be set to 7 or 15 watts, and i'm no sonic genious but i'd say 7 watts cranked would only be a tiny tiny bit louder than 5 watts plus the head is way less than £400, the combo is like £40 more than 400
Last edited by alexlemon2 at May 27, 2008,
Quote by alexlemon2
I see you want a tiny terror, and those things have a switch that allows it to be set to 7 or 15 watts, and i'm no sonic genious but i'd say 7 watts cranked would only be a tiny tiny bit louder than 5 watts plus the head is way less than £400, the combo is like £40 more than 400

The Tiny Terror is too loud to be cranked at bedroom volumes, even on 7 watts.

The ZVex Nano head is £325 at Dolphin music. You could either connect that to your current amps speaker, or stretch another your total budget another £25 or so and get an Epi VJ cab.
Gear
Epiphone G-400
Orange Tiny Terror
Marshall 1936 2x12 Cabinet
Blackstar HT-Dual
MXR 10-Band EQ
Last edited by polaroidvision at May 27, 2008,
Is 7 watts really noticeably louder than a 5 watt amp? I thought a couple of watts was negligible