I'm looking at new electric guitars (look at my sig and see why), and I'm leaning towards a model of SG. So far, I'm looking at a gibson faded sg or epiphone 1966 g-400.

Gibson: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Gibson-Faded-SG-Special-Electric-Guitar-102935921-i1149235.gc

Epi: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Epiphone-Limited-Edition-1966-G-400-Electric-Guitar-102676350-i1166714.gc

I'm fairly new to guitar (around 6 months now) and play mainly rock and punk right now, but want to get into metal also. Would these be good (if so, which'd be better?), or if not, what would you recommend?

btw, I'm looking at getting a roland cube 20x to replace my crap amp, so don't rant at me about how I should upgrade my amp first.]

Thanks in advance for any advice!
ok firstly, u dont need a gibson/epi to get a good intrument

for an SG shape, get an ESP viper and b/c u have enough u were gonna get a gibson, get either the 400+ model

hope i can help
(Main)Gear-v
Jackson Dinky DKMGT
PRS SE Paul Allender
Peavey 6505+ 112
get A esp viper..their Sg on crack..it does not have to be epi/gibson to be good...I herd that too much and i know its not true
Quote by Wrst_Plyr_Evr
I beat my wife

Beating yea bi
i had a epi for about a week. it was so neck heavy it was almost impossible to play standing. i've played the gibson it sounds good and it's balanced very well. if you can try them out you should..........big DIFFERENCE.
If u r sticking to the gibson / epiphone idea I would go for the epiphone now and get a gibson later
If in doubt u could buy the gibson pickups and put em in the epiphone that would be a cheap alternitive to the gibson ?
Quote by -Blue-
I didn't say I had the money yet, I need to save up... I'll take a look at Vipers. Are the 400's a lot better than 200's or 50's?
That's like asking: "What's better, a Yugo or an Aston Martin?"

The 400s are so many orders of magnitude better than the 200s and 50s, words can not describe it. Get a G-400 Custom if you like the shape.