Hey guys,

So first a little bit of a boring backstory so you can see where I'm at. Basically, I'm a guitarist by trade, but recently (January) I filled on on bass in a mates band and I've become permenant! Actually really enjoy delivering the basslines so I'm sticking with it.

I started out with an Orange Crush 30B practice combo which I actually really like the sound of (for practicing obviously) and hiring what I think is an Ampeg 450H hooked up to an 8x10 Ampeg cab from our reheasal studio (it sounds great, really like the tone).

Now I'm going to start gigging with these guys and obviously I'm not going to be able to do so with a 30 watt pratice amp. Consequently I'm in the market for a bass amp I can gig with.

What I would really like as a head is an Ampeg SVT3-Pro, but it's a little bit pricey to be honest. For less cash I've found the GK700RBII head and it looks like a good bet. I've heard that the low end GK stuff is a bit pants, does this head fall outside of this category?

Is this a good choice of head for general rock/pop-punky/metal (i don't slap/pop) ? Or should I wait and try and pick up a used SVT3?

The second quandry is which cab to hook the head up to. I would use GK cabs, but to be honest, I haven't really seen any bassists playing through them (except flea, but that's probably down to him getting them for nout).

I was thinking of a 4x10 Ampeg HE or 4x10 HLF (I just don't think my back/arms could cope with an 8x10) with a view to adding a 1x15 or another 4x10 (are 2 4x10's the same as a single 8x10???) at a later date. Does this sound like a good idea or should I stick with the GK head to GK cabs (I hear you can only bi-amp the GK with GK cabs, though whether I'll ever need this or not I'm not sure).

Got a budget of about £1000 but would like to keep it below £900 if possible as I'd like to get a quarter pounder to chuck in the P-Bass from the same budget.

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks,
Phil.
Last edited by lessthanthree at May 26, 2008,