I just got an Ibanez GSR200FM (beautiful bass, BTW) last weekend. I was trolling CL and picked up a Hartke VX410 cabinet for $100. It is in decent shape, but now I am looking for a head. This cabinet is rated for 400w at 8 Ohms. I talked to a guy tonight that has an old Peavey that is rated at 300 watts thru 2 ohms and 210 thru 4 ohms.

EDIT: I am not exactly sure what this think is, but it's most likely not a Mark III since he said it was a tube amp head. I will post pics tonight after I get it home...

Since my cabinet is rated at 8 Ohms, I can use this head because my cabinet rated higher than the head in terms of load (Ohms), correct?

I am new to Bass and didn't want to spend a lot of money on this at first.

Edited to add pics...

Epiphone G400 Cherry
Ibanez GSA60 Jewel Blue
Jasmine S35
Squire Affinity Strat
Roland Micro Cube
Digitech Bad Monkey
Dunlop Original Cry Baby

Ibanez GSR200FM
Last edited by deadsmiley at May 27, 2008,
With a Solid State amp, you should be just dandy as long as you don't go under the min. load (2 Ohms).

If it bothers you too much, get a 2x10 that's rated at 8 Ohms and use them both to run your head at 4 Ohms.

Post some picts, yeah.
Epi Gothic Thunderbird
Squier P-Bass w/new pups
Ibanez RG7321
Washburn Acoustic Guitar
SWR LA 12

POD X3 Live $300/500.
Oh it doesn't bother me. The guy I talked to tonight said the Peavey was a tube amp, so maybe it's not a Mark III after all???

Pics coming...
Epiphone G400 Cherry
Ibanez GSA60 Jewel Blue
Jasmine S35
Squire Affinity Strat
Roland Micro Cube
Digitech Bad Monkey
Dunlop Original Cry Baby

Ibanez GSR200FM
Oh, well if it's a tube head you need to make sure you match the Ohms up right. There should be a switch on the back for those heads.
Epi Gothic Thunderbird
Squier P-Bass w/new pups
Ibanez RG7321
Washburn Acoustic Guitar
SWR LA 12

POD X3 Live $300/500.
Ok, I will check it out tomorrow. He only wants $50 for it so I can't go too wrong, eh?
Epiphone G400 Cherry
Ibanez GSA60 Jewel Blue