Hey I'm new here, and I just got this guitar. I'm a beginner and I have no idea how my guitar works (all I really know is where to plug in to the amp).

I bought this guitar off a friend for $100 who bought it off a friend as well...lmao

Any info you guys could give on the origin of this guitar (such as year of origin, pick-ups, neck, material? lmao) would suffice...Thanks a lot.

*I hope this was the right place to post this...:

All I know is the following:

Ibanez Ex Series (to my understanding it is pretty old? I'm not even sure)
Made in Korea
Volume/Tune knobs...lol

Any info would be greatly appreciated, thanks
Last edited by Stillth3sameg at May 27, 2008,
It looks like an older model, and from what I hear they are very nice.

Of course I'm either 100% correct or completely wrong, haha
Aha, I was right! =D

Ibanez ex's were the Rg of 1990. They had many lower end good quality ones and some expensive ones.

So basically...you got yourself a pretty good deal. It's discontinued, I'd fix it up a bit,
Yeah? Thanks a lot man lmao

What about it would you fix up/upgrade (and according to what kinda style of music would you base your changes upon?)
Well, I'd do an overall clean up. There looks to be a little rust by the pickups.

But I would put some EMG pickups in them, it would be a good investment since the guitar could last you a while.

Also changing the tuning pegs is a pain, but it might have to be done. I'd check how well the guitar stays in tune.

Emg pickups are a heavy rock and metal pickup. If you're into punk or something else, I cant help you there.
Last edited by Ze_Metal at May 27, 2008,
lol thanks a lot man you're being very helpful, just that i was aiming to a more softer sound ya know, looks as if emg pickups would go to the opposite way as to where I am aiming to get it to sound to ya know, but other than that what you say makes sense

any other info would be appreciated, maybe someone could go more specific into it? anything would be helpful