hey i started playing guitar a year ago when i got an acoustic as a gift and i got an electric six months ago too. since then ive taught myself and been practicing for at least an hour most days and at this point i can play easy songs like stairway to heaven perfectly and i can play intermediate songs like paradise city really well too and i can even play hard songs like certain van halen or master of puppets a little sloppy in parts but still decent overall. however, when i try to create my own solos i cant create anything longer than like 45 seconds that still sounds decent and original and even to make a decent half minute solo takes me hours and hours of messing around and putting together riffs and short runs. Im not able to improvise to save my life or get a good run going for awhile. ive learned all the basic scales like the pentatonic, minor, major blues etc. and the only things i can think of that i havent learned so far are theory beyond the basics, modes intervals and tapping so is there a reason why i still cant improvise at all? also i cant memorize and play without looking at a tab songs that are at all complex or not simple, is that just a memory thing that will eventually come to me?
improvising just takes time... i'm assuming you overlap scales? cuz that's a biggie... also with the memory i have to play over and over again to memorize stuff, so just go for it
yeah i overlap scales. the thing about improvising and creating good solos that frustrates me is that when i play great solos from the legends like page or van halen, not that i expect my own to sound anywhere near as good as theirs, they flow so naturally and all the notes and bends sound right but i dont really know how to find the right notes on the spot when im improvising even though i know the scales which is why right now i can only get the right notes through hours of basically guesswork in the scales
Last edited by gnr reunite at May 28, 2008,