I'm still new to guitar and I plan on changing my strings at the end of the week... my Ibanez RGT42FX came with .9 gauge strings and I just bought some GHS Boomers that are .10 gauging. My question is, was the RGT42FX specifically made for .9 strings or can I use the .10 Boomers without any problems?
Last edited by TexasRG at May 28, 2008,
Not an expert on the topic of strings, but I'm pretty sure that your axe can handle the .10. Then again, I had some of Zakk signature strings and there were honestly a pain in the ass on my Epiphone Goth Les Paul. So who knows. Does the guitar NEED new strings or are you just looking for a little deeper tone?
...the guitar isnt made for the strings the strings are made for the guitar...no guitar is specifically made for a set of strings...
Quote by aig91
"It doesn't get much beter than that! Ok, maybe a free ibanez guitar and marshall half-stack in perfect condition would be better, but free pancakes comes right behind that"

Quote by neptune1988
"My tone should be like me........FAT! "
After about a month of playing a good 5 hours a day I figure its probably about time for a change, I am also putting on some pickup covers this week so that gives me another excuse to change the strings.
Quote by TexasRG
After about a month of playing a good 5 hours a day I figure its probably about time for a change, I am also putting on some pickup covers this week so that gives me another excuse to change the strings.

What guitar do you have?
the ibanex yes? which i beleive has a small neck? in which case if you go up a gauge of string like that, you are likely to have to adjust the truss rod. If the neck is thick enough though, one gauge should be fine.
Quote by DiMeTiMe
+3.141592

Quote by imgooley
It was such a good suggestion you gave him pi?

yeah, he gave me pi.
Quote by TexasRG
Ibanez RGT42FX:
More info: RGT42FX