Hi,

I've been playing acousitc guitar for a few months and I'm slowly but surely getting better. Most of the songs I'm trying to learn don't sound great on it though, so I'm thinking of getting an electric. I start my new job next week so I am goin to treat myself at the end of June.
My budget is around £250, dont want to go higher than that. I'm trying to learn songs by bands such as The Strokes, Green Day, Radiohead, Clapton n a few others. I'm not really into anything too heavy, maybe learn some Metalica or Muse when I get better later down the line. I was looking at an Ibanez RG321MH, the reviews seem great and it is well under my budget, but I'm woried that it is a little to 'metal' for me.
Obviously I'm going to try them out before I buy one, but any recommendations of what I should be looking at will be a great help.

Cheers.
well, most of the time when we go through this process it helps if we know more about your personality? what do you like to do In your spare time other than guitar? are you outgoing or intraverted? how many hours do you practice. These are all things we'll need to know first.
for my first guitar i got a 'vintage' SG copy, and it was just right for the type of stuff your playing, not a terrible guitar and cost £180 i think.
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
It looks like a strat would suit everything you play. Maybe a Squier Fat Strat?
My Gear:

Guitars:
Fender American HSS Stratocaster

Amps & Effects:
Hand-Wired JCM 800 2204
Hand-Wired V30 2x12 Cab
Keeley TS-9 Tube Screamer
ISP Decimator
EHX Holiest Grail
Modded Dunlop Crybaby
Boss RC-2 Loop Station
The RG321MH is fine.Besides that,you can consider an Epiphone G-400
MY GEAR
Ibanez SA160QM
Laney HCM10
Squier Bullet Strat
MXR Carbon Copy
Zoom Tri Metal
Modtone Flanger(mini)
EHX LPB-1
Korg Pitchblack
Timtone acoustic