Ok now, I've been playing for 2 years now, without any profesional help. And now I'm digging the Modes of the Diatonic a lot. I got nothing on many of you guys on guitar, so I need your help!

I tend to approach my playing depending on patterns I see... Now, the Diatonic has 2 half-tone intervals- as in like, the Phrygian/Dorian notes and the Locrian/Major notes (hope u'r still with me).

Now I look at the Diatonic using these half-tone intervals as reference points in soloing. That way my Dorian is seperated, and so is my Mixo and Minor. My brother thinks its very weird, just want to know what you guys think? Anyone ever tried that or something similar? or What are your thoughts on this way of approaching?
well man, if it works for you...

Quote by zeppelinfreak51

And just to get it out of the way, scales are a collection of notes, not a pattern on a fretboard.

actually a scale is a set of intervals.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
I think I understand what you're saying, when I play, sometimes I rapidly switch modes while playing, but modes are determined by the flats and sharps collected in the scale, there are different patterns on the fretboard in which you can play a diatonic sequence.
Man... Signatures are hard to come up with!
Well, I'm just getting into modes and I don't have a whole lotta playing under my belt either so yea.. I'm tryin! lol

Quote by zeppelinfreak51
...what?

And just to get it out of the way, scales are a collection of notes, not a pattern on a fretboard.

Scales are a collection of notes IN A PATTERN. And if they weren't in a pattern, wouldn't they be jibberish?
Quote by MonsterOfRock

Scales are a collection of notes IN A PATTERN. And if they weren't in a pattern, wouldn't they be jibberish?