I Just got a hand-me-down guitar from my cousin. Its a Fender Stratocaster and its in fairly decent condition. Everything is still all stock parts besides the neck. I have one question though.. I play for a metal band and Id like to know if i can get a more metal tone to it. So Im basicly looking for new pickups..But all the pickups i get suggested are humbucker pickups. Im very new to adding equipment to guitars so please excuse my ignorance. What kind of pickups should i purchase?
EMG 81/60. You might have to do some roghting, but for metal, you really need humbuckers.
Quote by xNIHILISMx
I Just got a hand-me-down guitar from my cousin. Its a Fender Stratocaster and its in fairly decent condition. Everything is still all stock parts besides the neck. I have one question though.. I play for a metal band and Id like to know if i can get a more metal tone to it. So Im basicly looking for new pickups..But all the pickups i get suggested are humbucker pickups. Im very new to adding equipment to guitars so please excuse my ignorance. What kind of pickups should i purchase?

You can get humbuckers for your guitar. You'll just have to cut your pickguard or buy a new HH/HSH/HSS one- about $20

I'm no expert on which humbuckers are good, but someone will be.

EDIT: What amp do you have? What other gear will you use this with? Don't automatically go with EMG's either, consider many different options
get a duncan jb the world most used pickup
jackson dk2 2008
hamer xt sunburst qt
epiphone g400
peavey vk212
morley p wah
behringer pb1000
dige bm
big muff ny
behringer dc 9 comp
member of the Jackson/Charvel Owners Club

£8.50/58fund for a ROCKTRON HUSH SUPER C PEDAL
seymour duncan (and other less known companies) make some pretty good single coil sized humbuckers. also, EMG makes some single coils.
"A guitar is the human soul, speaking with just six strings..."- Eddie Lee

Irvine Kinneas of the Final Fantasy Elite - PM me, Ichikurosaki, Gallagher2006, or Deliriumbassist to join!