hi guys.i've been in gear ads section for quite a while but this is my first time being here.

i'm planning to change the neck pickup of my epi lp custom and wondering what should i get.i play mostly metal,hard rock and power ballad(s).i'm quite satisfied with the gritty tone of the sh-6 in the bridge but i want something smoothier for the neck (better with alnico magnet).the gibson 490R i'm using is good but it's too sweet and not hot enough for my taste.

and i usually switch between bridge and neck pu in one song.and use mostly neck pu for ballads.and wide variety of gain.

i'm thinking of the SH-10 and want to hear comments of those who used it.also, i saw the RR5 have SH-4s in both positions and wondering how it'll work in the neck.

p/s:i'm in Vietnam,where trying different kinds of pu or guitars of amps or pedals is impossible

cheers.
Last edited by Duncan_amateur at May 29, 2008,
Hang on... the 490R isn't hot enough for your tastes? The 490R is pretty damn hot as far as neck pickups go, I've got a Burstbucker #2 in my LP's neck and sometimes even that is a hot enough for straight-up metal and hard rock - and the 490R is even hotter than the Burstbucker #2...

And forsaknazrael is right, it's not a good idea to have a hot neck pickup. Do you even have any need for hot pickups? Are you really overdriving your amp that much? A lot of people buy hot pickups thinking they'll make their tone 'more metal', but then they go and under-power their amp and just use a distortion pedal instead... the whole (only) point of using hotter pickups is to drive an already maxed-out amp even harder. If you're not doing that (which I'm guessing you're not, judging by your other posts on this forum it looks like you're using distortion pedals and not actually driving your amp hard at all), then there is no point in increasing the output of your pickups.