Hi there, i had always been a multi effects user. So i get to use lots of different sounds and change from one patch to another with just one push of a button although they may sound more digital.

But i question i always had in mind was that while using an amp for the tones how do people change from say a drive channel with no reverb to a lead channel with reverb and delay? if stomp boxes are used for the reverb and delay then to change from a clean channel to a lead channel would require the player to press three buttons, one for the drive channel, one for the reverb and one for the delay, which is quite troublesome when playing live.

The big guitar players like john petrucci, steve vai and others seem to do it with just one press of a button although even they use amps. So how do they do that? Can anyone explain to me the whole thing? i am new to all these.
well, they use some (i don't really recall the name) big ass stompbox, which has something like from 5 to 8 pedals, each pedal can be programmed with various effects, for example, one pedal with overdrive, flanger and reverb, another pedal with distortion and compressor, another one with a clean and a chorus, etc, hope it helps
MIDI programmable rack effects and amp channel switching. The MIDI pedalboard thing they'll use will be able to control them all with a push of a button.
Quote by Liberation
Every time I see your avatar I want to slit your neck with a butterknife. Goddamn Pingu.
Quote by loonyguitarist
MIDI programmable rack effects and amp channel switching. The MIDI pedalboard thing they'll use will be able to control them all with a push of a button.

Could you please explain how its done? I mean the process?