A good friend of mine started a band 5 years ago with 2 of his best friends. 4 years ago my brother joins the band as the lead vocalist, and I became the sound guy (not as a roadie that hooks up the PA, I'm a sound engineer by trade). From the point my brother joined the band, every member of the band got better at what they do has gotten better at what they do, except the bassist. He has, for all intents and purposes, gotten worse (developed a drug addiction, dropped out of college, stolen money from the band, blew out his amp and never bought a new one (using mine for past year) and has not improved musically). For the past year I've been writing his music for him during practices/jam sessions because he'd rather sit and play playstation than jam) This summer, the lead guitarist and the drummer called me up to come write music without the bassist there, and told me to write stuff at my level, not his. We proceeded to write 4 songs in 4 practices, and they made the decision to kick him out (finally) and replace him with me.

This sounds great, except they didn't tell the current bassist until after he found out about a huge show that we were invited to play(large venue in Manhattan, where major label and livenation reps will be attending) he wants that to be his last show. It came down to a vote and the band agreed to let him play that show. I had no problem with that, except that the band wants to play the 4 songs I wrote, which the current bassist is completly unable to play. The band now wants me to re-write versions of the new songs that the other guy can play.

my options are:

1. write dumbed-down versions of my songs, teach them to the other bassist, and not play the show

2. tell the band that if they want their old bassist, play their old songs

what should I do?
Traben Array
2x Tech21 Sansamp RBI Bass preamps
450w Power Amp
2x Gallien-Krueger 410
-
Handmade nylon-string classical guitar
-
Jackson DXMG Dinky
Line 6 Spider 2 250w combo
-