I apologize in advance for the long post - please be nice lol

Hello fellow axe-slingers of doom!
I'm new here and need a second opinion on something.

I've been playing guitar for about 6 years now and for the last 2 years i've been playing through my PC using a line6 guitarport, which is ok for doing home recordings and jamming over some of my fave tracks.
I'm currently attending college and they give me maintenance money every month, and with a part time job i started a month back i have quite a bit of cash to part with.

here's my dilemma: -
NEW Guitar: i'm looking to start a covers/function band with a couple of friends, i've been using my trusty epiphone les paul custom for the past 4 years and it's never let me down but lately it's kinda been dying so i'm just itching to get a guitar - somewhere in the £600 region

NEW amp: after using the guitarport for so long i'm getting tired of it and i find it a pain in the ass to practice cos it means using up lots of computer ram - i've been looking at a marshall DSL 401 - might be an idea.

I think the smart thing would be to get a new amp and just put my les paul in to a tech because i do love the sound of the guitar.

Thoughts and opinions????????
Go for the amp!
Jackson King V KVX10
Line 6 Spider III 75 W.
Peavey 5150/6505 Combo to be owned at the end of 2010.
A new amp. There's no real contest there.
Mitch Hedberg Group
http://groups.ultimate-guitar.com/koalabears/

Quote by Irnmaiden4life
why didnt you just play like crap?
if you need help with that, ask Vincent745

Quote by imgooley
Awe, so cute...

How old are you?

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R

Old enough to yell rape.
Quote by GeorgeWFletcher
Get a new amp. It is unlikely that a tech will not be able to fix your guitar.