So I have been trying to write some stuff for my band but I'm a bassist and drummer by trade so I can't really write any good guitar part, all I'm really able to write with is power chords and some simple open chords I know.

What can I do to start writing more interesting guitar parts? I do own a couple of cheap guitars so I can start learning if need be the question is what would be best to learn from a songwriting perspective?
well start with the power chords and pick them apart...observe each note in the chord and see what notes they sound good with in playing.....the try to play those notes together using hammer ons....tapping and such......
nothing rong with power chords man....... you could maybe add a little guitar lick somewhere in the song...... along with solo if your into that ****.....
Quote by Ripper_66
So I have been trying to write some stuff for my band but I'm a bassist and drummer by trade so I can't really write any good guitar part, all I'm really able to write with is power chords and some simple open chords I know.

What can I do to start writing more interesting guitar parts? I do own a couple of cheap guitars so I can start learning if need be the question is what would be best to learn from a songwriting perspective?

Get the guitarist to write the guitar parts to suit his playing.
/thread.
We play rock I'm not really sure what to compare us to but think sort of Foo Fighters/Nirvana sort of stuff.

I know that there is nothing wrong with power chords but I would like to write more diverse songs. I've been trying to write some acoustic stuff and power chords won't work there :P