I have a weird problem.. ive been playing classical guitar for about 5 years and im really good at it, now i got an electric 2 month ago, and i think im getting good at it.. but ive been always sitting when playing and today decided to play while standing and i just cant do it.. i mean i can but i suck for some reason.. am i doing something wrong or i just need to get used to it?
any advice would help! thanks!
yeah, have your strap at which ever height is comfortable.

Bear in mind though you have to look cool though, so no alex turner bull ****.
yeah, just adjust the strap so the guitar is at a similar location to where it was when you were sitting.

also, there's no real reason to stand up and play, so if you're uncomfortable doing it, dont.
well it looks kinda stupid when too high so i try keeping a little lower than usual but i guess its normal to feel uncomfortable after playing sitting for 5 years and just try to get up 1 day =)
thanks guy ill keep practicing playing standing
I wear my strap when I sit so when I stand up.... BAM!
86% of the people who frequent the "Electric Guitar" forum would say that they have played guitar for under 5 years.
I have a similar question about sitting/ standing while recording a song. I'm just talking about recording on a dinky digital recorder at a jam session, nothing formal. Is it more important to play a song in that respect sitting if you're more comfortable or standing...?
if you want quality, go for whichever's more comfortable

however, when you're not in the spotlight (at home practicing)
it's a good idea to practice standing up

first few days/weeks have your guitar at a comfortable height
then every now and then, lower it a bit
keep on doing this until you reach your "goal" comfortably
Gear:
Yamaha Pacifica 112V
Roland Cube 20X

www.justinguitar.com
Very, VERY, helpful site!! Free, too.
Quote by Samai

^ + infinity.

That's what I've been doing and it's working great so far.
Quote by Samai