I'm new to the guitar world, but I've always wanted to play bass and recently my friend got a guitar. I was surprised at how fast I was picking up certian things (the chromatic scale, e and a minor) and after this I've decided to finaly fulfill my dream, but I know nothing and my friend knows nothing of bass. I have several questions and would love any tips/advice that I might need when beginning.

Right now, I'm looking for a metal/goth sound with the fast tempo of maybe punk and my two choices for my first bass is between the ESP LTD B-50 Bass Guitar and the Dean Custom Zone 4-String Bass Guitar. Any opions on the two or other reccomendations. I'm looking for something thats easy to learn on, a fair price, and can progress along with me--(if that makes any sense).

And, what sort of pedals, amps, other effects, string types should I look into.

please and thank you in advance
well if you never played before... just get a cheap fender package.. 300 for a amp and a bass. you wont need pedals if your just starting
I would definitely go with the Dean. if you end up writing original stuffs and/or performing, you will probably want a wah-wah pedal.... no recommendations on the brand however. for amps... i would probably go with something along the lines of a Crate amp.

alright then,
xgregx
Quote by witchhammer
you, sir, are terrible.

I'm finding new ways to make the same mistakes,
putting my dreams onto paper and then folding them into planes,
then I let them go because when in Rome,
I set fire to what I love the most.

Yeah this is why the FAQ was made, I wish people would read that thing, people put a lot of effort into it
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!