Do you have a set pattern with your plucking hand? or do you kind of just use whatever finger feels right at that given time? I'm self taught and was just thinking about my style the other day. Just curious if i'm stuck in a bad habit or not. I being the use whatever finger feels right at that given time kinda guy.
The best way and what is generally thought by teachers is: point, middle, point, middle or point, middle, ring, point, middle, ring. all books i have have the first few lessons training that and exercises to practice that. I think that that's the way to go. It also helps with rythem doing it like that.
To Be is to Do -Socrates-
To Do is to Be -Sartre-
Do be do be do -Sinatra
I agree with the post above, but say I play a note on the D and the next one if on the A, I would use the same finger, as it sort of brushes over both of them, and creates a smoother sound. (IMO)
Quote by kiennM
damn, guess i learned wrong than.

Wrong might be a strong word but the way i described it is better. It will be tough to get rid of that 'bad habit' but in the end it will benefit. Especially with more complicated and fast stuff.

My advise is start practicing
To Do is to Be -Sartre-
Do be do be do -Sinatra
Some people also use a thre finger technique of 12321232 etc. It isn't quite as fast as 123123 but it can be useful.

As for me, I mostly use two fingers alternating, but I can also bring in my thumb and my ring finger depending on the situation.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW
Damn you and Warwickyness

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1
One aspect of James Jamerson's upright playing that carried over to the electric bass guitar was the fact that he generally used only his right index finger to pluck the strings while resting his 3rd and 4th fingers on the chrome pickup cover. Jamerson's index finger even earned its own nickname: "The Hook".

FTW
Quote by fishbass
FTW