As I’ve noted in recent posts I have a case of tendonitis and I am taking a week or so off to recover. In my time off I will be extensively studying theory. I’ve also decided to take the time to re-evaluate myself as a musician and as a guitarist. Any feedback would be much appreciated.

I’ve been playing for about 6 six years though only about 2 seriously. To be honest as I was playing I never entertained the notion of learning theory. My technique suffered as well as I never learned the “proper” way to fret things. The question I seem to have most often is “what fingers do I use?” I apologize. this question will no doubt pop up again in the future.

That being said I’m still pretty good
. My heart is in grunge music and I pretty much know the Nirvana catalogue by heart. I can play a lot of Alice in Chains. I can play pretty much any simple song by ear. I’m also proficient in improvising, though up until now, I couldn’t tell you what I was playing, I only knew it sounded good.
As a musician I hate limiting myself to genres. I make music I want to make that’s it. My influences range from to Nirvana and Nine Inch Nails, to The Cure, The Deftones, and Tool. I can play pretty much any song from these bands. Here’s what caused me to change:

As I was searching for different genres to incorporate into my playing I stumbled upon Melodic Death, specifically the Gothenburg sound. It is by far the most amazing show of musicianship I’ve heard up to this point and I knew I wanted to throw some melodeath techniques in my own songs.

I’ve tried but I just can’t get it. They simply play too fast and too complex for me and I couldn’t keep up. All these techniques like sweep picking, alternate picking, legato, and string skipping are too much for me to handle.