hello, i have been a musician for almost 13 years, playing guitar is what i live for. I practice 3 or 4 hours a day, and can play anything. I am getting really depressed because while i can learn a very hard song in an hour, it takes me months to write a song of my own. I need theory training badly, because while i can write riffs and leads they are never what i want, and when i play what i want to play it sounds lame to me. Even when i write a song and its sounds great to me that day, the next i hate it and throw it in the scrap pile. My friends tell me i am really hard on myself and they love the music i write, but to me i feel like i need some direction. Maybe its writers block, maybe it really does suck, or just maybe im way to much of a perfectionist to create something i will be proud of. Check out my mp3 in my profile, i like the lead tone but hate everything else. Tell me if its crap. Does this happen to anyone else? I am just really unsatisfied with myself and need some advice.
Dude, your friend is right. Based on what i just heard, your playing is solid and you've got a good start on composing. You're too hard on yourself. Only thing I can recommend for you is to play what you're feeling and what you love and to get more music theory training. You have all that you need, just play what you feel.
i really liked the mp3.

its not mentioned in your above message, so im going to assume you are not in a band. sometimes that can be all the inspiration a person needs. just being with other people who love music as much as they do can provoke song writing ability.

seriously, the mp3 is awesome.
i think that the mp3 is wicked.

what don't you like about it? and what comes into your head to play next after you hear that (i.e. in the context of a song)?