Alright i can't think of how to phrase this question well but here it goes. I'm kinda new at guitar and i was wondering whats the right way to pick if your going from string to string? do you alternate where you hit the string every time or do you just keep going in the same direction (like if your playing open b then g then d)?
example: fade to black: lets say that (A) next to the number is hitting the string from above and (B) is hitting the string from below.
1. alternating every time
e-----------------------------------15(A)--------14(A)-----------------------------------------------
b----------15(B)---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
g------------------14(A)--12(B)---------14(B)---------14(B)---------------------------------------
d---12(A)----------------------------------------------------------12(A)------------------------------
a--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
e--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

or

2. same direction between strings, but alternating on the same string
e-----------------------------------15(A)--------14(A)-----------------------------------------------
b----------15(A)---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
g------------------14(B)--12(A)---------14(B)---------14(B)---------------------------------------
d---12(A)----------------------------------------------------------12(B)-----------------------------
a--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
e--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sorry about the poor example