***skip to the bottom if you're feeling lazy***

So I've been playing acoustic for a bit now (1-2 years? I forget..) and, going off to college and all, I'm saving for an electric for myself. At the moment I'm thinking of getting a mexican fender strat of some sort. I play mostly classic rock and some early metal (iron maiden, early metallica, .....) _but_ I really like the clean sound, even if what I'm playing was originally played with a lot of OD/distortion/etc, and whenever I'm at gc I always try to go for a clean sound.

Basically, I'm looking for a practice amp/multi-effects device with a good clean sound, since that'll be what I'll be using the most probably. I'll be using headphones half or most of the time, so phone outs are a must. My budget's about $100-$200, _maybe_ a little more, but not likely. (yeah I know that's not much.)

I'm looking at the following atm:
Behringer V-Amp 2
Line 6 POD 2.0
Vox Valvetronix AD15VT
Peavey Valve King Royal 8
Epi Valve Jr.

I toyed around with the pod in-store, but I couldn't find a nice clean channel. Probably wasn't picking the right presets....

The only other one I've tried is the Vox, and I really liked the sound of it. I assume it has an out, since the 30 has it (gc.com doesn't have back pics for the 15..).

The VJ has a jack for speakers in the back.... can you stick headphones in there?

I've been hearing good things about tubes, but then (after a bunch of searching) I read that tubes have more of a slightly chunky/od'ed tone to them (probably using the wrong words to describe it...)

If you're too lazy to read...
Basically wondering if anyone could clear that up for me, and if anyone had anything to say about the cleans with the behringer and line6 devices. Feel free to suggest other options. I will definitely try to try the rest out the next time I'm at gc.