Page 1 of 3
I agree there may have been a thread like this before but screw it, I am too lazy to look so sue me. lol.

So anyways, what do your parents think about you playing your instruments? Are they supportive, not, maybe, w/e.. etc..?
They like it a lot. But they don't buy me anything... cept for a harmonica.

I'm old enough to buy things for myself.
They like it when I play acoustic stuff, but I mostly play metal and I don't think they like that too much. They especially hate the idea of spending so much money on guitar stuff
ive been playing for a little while now
my parents want to get me lessons
but i dont want them
ive done enough on my own, i dont need it
plus i enjoy the satisfaction of being self taught

yet at the same time, they are discouraging me
cause i want a new amp
but they dont want me to get it
they want me to get a new guitar
but ive done my homework, amp is more crucial to your sound than the guitar

oh well, in the end ill just do whatever the **** i want anyway
They've been pretty supportive. I usually buy most of my stuff unless it's for a b-day or Christmas. But if I'm short like $20 on a guitar or amp he'll chip in. They also don't seem to mind the noise.
Dad supports it, he'll buy strings/small things etc. We have a deal that I get enough for a VK 112 if I pass with all A's this semester, which I'm likely going to unless I bomb an exam bad. I'm thinking I'll just use the $$$ I have now and get a Buruga 333XL 212 combo though.

My mom on the other hand, thinks that it's a waste of time, and that I should be studying. Yeah, she doesn't know about my Dad giving me just over $400 to get an amp, and she won't until I bring it home and she goes "Uhh how did you afford that?"
They love it. I play mostly stuff they grew up with, so it's all good.
Gear
Fender Thinline Telecaster Deluxe

1983 Aria Pro II XX Deluxe Flying V

2007 S101 EGU34

1963 Kay Vanguard

1964 Kay Vanguard

AXL Badwater SRO

Hondo Strat

1974 Acoustic(brand) 134 4x10 combo